Board Members


Christina Viskum Lytken Larsen


Christina V.L. Larsen is a Researcher at the National Institute of Public Health, University of Southern Denmark where she is also the co-ordinator of Center for Health Research in Greenland. She received the Hart Hansen Award for emerging researchers and health workers at CCH14 in 2009.

Pam Orr


Dr. Pamela Orr is a Professor of Medicine, Medical Microbiology and Community Health, and a consultant with the J.A. Hildes Medical Unit, at the University of Manitoba, Canada. She is a clinician, teacher and researcher, with an interest in the health of indigenous peoples that dates from her initial work as a general practitioner in northern Canada. Her current research focuses on the biologic and social determinants of infectious diseases in indigenous peoples. Dr. Orr is a member of the Global Indigenous Stop TB Initiative and is President-Elect of the North American Region of the International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease. She is past president of the International Union for Circumpolar Health and the Canadian Society for Circumpolar Health.

Gert Mulvad

Gert Mulvad is a family physician at the Centre for Primary Health Care in Nuuk, Greenland. He graduated in medicine from Copenhagen University in 1981. He has been working in Nuuk since 1986. He started his research carriers in 1990 as co leader for the Greenland Autopsy study, with the outcome of 20 per review articles. His research fields are Traditional Food Risk Benefit, Sexual Transmitted Diseases, and Family Health. In 2000 he was appointed as Associate Researcher at the Centre of Arctic Environmental Medicine, University of Aarhus, Denmark. He serves on many committees involved in health care delivery, research and education in Greenland and the circumpolar countries.

Jon Øyvind Odland

Dr. Jon Øyvind Odland is a Professor of International Health, Specializing in Gynecology and Obstetrics at Department of Community Medicine, University of Tromsø, Norway and with the Northern Norway Regional Health Authority (Helse Nord). He is Co-chair of the Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme, Human Health Assessment Group (AMAP HHAG) and the Norwegian Key National Expert, Sustainable Development Working Group, Expert Group on Human Health.

Arja Rautio

Dr. Arja Rautio, MD, PhD, ERT, is a research professor and chair of the Center for Arctic Medicine at Thule Institute, University of Oulu, Finland. She is leading a research program, international PhD and Master’s program of Circumpolar Health and Well-being, and the thematic network of Health and Wellbeing at the University of the Arctic. Her research interests are in the topics of environmental health and well-being, social exclusion, and adaptation to climate change in the North. She is working with the publishing group of International Journal of Circumpolar Health and co-ordinated the ICCH16 held in Oulu in June 2015. Arja is a national key expert in the AMAP and SDWG – Human Health Expert groups and IASC – Human and Social Working group. At the moment she is vice-chair of the Nordic Society of Circumpolar Health.


Alain Beaudry is a health economist of Indigenous and European ancestry who is currently in his last year of Medical School at the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg, Canada. He has a Bachelor’s degree in Medicine from the University of Manitoba and a Master’s degree in Economics from the University of Winnipeg. He has worked in the business sector in the past, and as a University lecturer. He is a researcher with an interest in health screening programs, particularly in circumpolar regions. He won third prize at the 17th International Congress on Circumpolar Health (Copenhagen August 2018) for his poster contribution on cancer screening in northern Canada. At that conference he was elected as an individual member of the Executive Council of the International Union for Circumpolar Health, and was appointed as the new IUCH Secretary.